“The Love Hypothesis” (2020) by Ali Hazelwood Review

Written by:

I wish you could see yourself the way I see you.”

— Story Synopsis —

As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn’t believe in lasting romantic relationships–but her best friend does, and that’s what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is dating and well on her way to a happily ever after was always going to take more than hand-wavy Jedi mind tricks: Scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.

That man is none other than Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor–and well-known ass. Which is why Olive is positively floored when Stanford’s reigning lab tyrant agrees to keep her charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend. But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive’s career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding… six-pack abs.

Suddenly their little experiment feels dangerously close to combustion. And Olive discovers that the only thing more complicated than a hypothesis on love is putting her own heart under the microscope.

Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5

My Thoughts

This book got me out of my reading slump. It was quite an enjoyable read. The plot was slightly predictable though. I loved that the relationship between Olive and Adam remained strong despite the challenges they faced.

However, Anh’s character was frustrating to read about. She was often trying to force interactions between Olive and Adam and although Anh was once of the motivations for Olive and Adam to start growing feelings for each other, I felt that it was slightly uncomfortable to constantly see Anh trying to push her friend towards another guy.

Even so, I do love myself some fake-dating trope and I did enjoy reading this. Some of their banters were lovely but it would have been better if Adam had slightly more personality in the story.

LATEST POSTS

The Love Wager (2023) by Lynn Painter Review

“And I know I didn’t say it the right way, but I am so in love with you. And not just in love with you, by the way. I also like you more than anyone else in the world. You’re funny and smart and beautiful, and whenever anything happens to me, funny, awful, or wonderful,…

Powerless (2023) by Lauren Roberts Review

‘When I was feral, frantic, and I was suddenly aware that I hadn’t said her name to her since we met.

And in that moment, I realized that I’d wanted to say it-wanted her to hear it from my lips. Realized that if she died, I would never again get to look into those blue…

Love Unwritten (2024) by Lauren Asher Review

‘Is it pathetic to be jealous of my own kid? Probably, but I’m hitting all new lows lately, seeing as I spent part of our day trying to compete for Ellie’s attention like a child.’ — Rafael

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started