“The Spanish Love Deception” (2021) by Elena Armas Review

Written by:

‘”Because it was all you were willing to give me. And I’d rather have you hating me than not have you at all.”‘

— Story Synopsis —

Catalina Martín, finally, not single. Her family is happy to announce that she will bring her American boyfriend to her sister’s wedding. Everyone is invited to come and witness the most magical event of the year.

That would certainly be tomorrow’s headline in the local newspaper of the small Spanish town I came from. Or the epitaph on my tombstone, seeing the turn my life had taken in the span of a phone call.

Four weeks wasn’t a lot of time to find someone willing to cross the Atlantic–from NYC and all the way to Spain–for a wedding. Let alone, someone eager to play along my charade. But that didn’t mean I was desperate enough to bring the 6’4 blue eyed pain in my ass standing before me.

Aaron Blackford. The man whose main occupation was making my blood boil had just offered himself to be my date. Right after inserting his nose in my business, calling me delusional, and calling himself my best option. See? Outrageous. Aggravating. Blood boiling. And much to my total despair, also right. Which left me with a surly and extra large dilemma in my hands. Was it worth the suffering to bring my colleague and bane of my existence as my fake boyfriend to my sister’s wedding? Or was I better off coming clean and facing the consequences of my panic induced lie?

Like my abuela would say, que dios nos pille confesados.

Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.8/5

My Thoughts

Went into this book with high expectations as I heard there was a lot of hype around it. After reading it, I found myself having a love-hate relationship with the book.

To me, there were parts of the book that felt repetitive which slowed down the pacing for me. As for the characters, Catalina was slightly annoying to me. Aaron on the other hand is a total sweetheart and I’m so sad that he’s a fictional character. He was the main reason why I continued reading the book. Although one part of the story that confused me was when the auction happened, as I had no idea why he was being auctioned. I was also shocked that there were parts of the story discussing body image issues.

As for pacing, the start of the book felt slow to me and yet the ending felt too rushed. To me, it felt like the problems in the book were not properly solved and yet the story ended. The spice level though… Chef kiss.

This book has been fun to read and I would recommend it to those who love enemies-to-lovers and fake-dating tropes! Although I did not fully fall in love with the book, I totally agree and understand the hype around it.

LATEST POSTS

The Love Wager (2023) by Lynn Painter Review

“And I know I didn’t say it the right way, but I am so in love with you. And not just in love with you, by the way. I also like you more than anyone else in the world. You’re funny and smart and beautiful, and whenever anything happens to me, funny, awful, or wonderful,…

Powerless (2023) by Lauren Roberts Review

‘When I was feral, frantic, and I was suddenly aware that I hadn’t said her name to her since we met.

And in that moment, I realized that I’d wanted to say it-wanted her to hear it from my lips. Realized that if she died, I would never again get to look into those blue…

Love Unwritten (2024) by Lauren Asher Review

‘Is it pathetic to be jealous of my own kid? Probably, but I’m hitting all new lows lately, seeing as I spent part of our day trying to compete for Ellie’s attention like a child.’ — Rafael

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started